Chairman’s Message / Past Chairman


Chris Moore

2021 Chairman

Welcome to our beautiful community! I’m proud to serve as the 2021 Chairman of the Board for the Bay County Chamber of Commerce.

We’ve been through a lot in the past several years with a Cat 5 Hurricane followed by a pandemic. Though both presented our community with many challenges, we are a community that looks out for one another and knows that by working together we can take on any challenge.

We have shown our resiliency to natural disasters and now a pandemic. The business community continues to adjust to the environment that has been created, and has become very creative in how business is conducted. These disasters have proven to provide us with an opportunity to now have a fresh, modern and forward-thinking community.

A new community has risen from the storm and at every turn you see new construction of commercial, retail, housing and more. A new highway network is in progress now with local, state and federal dollars at work preparing us for the future.

Community Development is the strength of our organization and can take credit for many of the recent successes to prepare this great community for the current and future growth. Our efforts legislatively have played a major role in influencing positive change.

The re-build of Tyndall Air Force Base is key to our local economy and this organization along with the Bay Defense Alliance led the way to ensure the announced funding of $4.5B committed by the federal government. It’s now game on for the future of the base, the F35 mission and others to come.

There are many great things to come and we thank those of you who are investing in this Chamber and its mission.

To review the 2021 Business Plan, please click here:

Past Chamber Chairpersons

1913-1923 R.L. McKenzie
1924 Col. Henry Page
1925 W.C. Sherman
1926-1927 Sam Brown
1928-1929 W.F. Look
1930-1931 Will D. Muse
1932-1933 Jesse Cogburn
1934 J.R. Asbell
1935 A.R. Rogers
1936-1937 J.A. Smith
1938 B.S. Gordon
1939 S.A. Daffin, Jr.
1940 Braden Ball
1941 A.M. Lewis, Sr.
1942 B.S. Gordon
1943 George Logue, Sr.
1944 M.G. “Bubber” Nelson
1945 J.R. Asbell
1946 Cecil Kelley
1947 A.N. Smith
1948 Don Fay
1949 W.A. Guy
1950 W.C. Sherman
1951 Harvey Mathis, Sr.
1952 S.A. Daffin, Jr.
1953 Brown Howell
1954 John Christo, Jr.
1955 Isaac Byrd
1956 T.Y. “Tom” Bingham
1957 T.W. Smith, Sr.
1958 John Henry Sherman, Sr.
1959 L.E. Merriam, Jr.
1960 Alton Boyd
1961 Rowe Sudduth
1962 L.D. Lewis, Sr.
1963 Dick Arnold
1964 Hugh Nelson
1965 Woodrow Wilson
1966 D.P. Clark
1967 H.M. Lewis
1968 Jack Blackwell
1969 Frank M. Parker
1970 D.R. Hinton, Jr.
1971-1972 Deck Hull

1973 Girard L. Clemons
1974 Johnny Patronis
1975 C.L. Jinks
1976 Tommy Cooley
1977 Rayford Lloyd
1978 Abbott Browne
1979 Fred Lindholm
1980 Don Crisp
1981 Travis Crosby
1982 Gene Crist
1983 Larry Tyree
1984 Pedro Mandoki
1985 Gary Muller
1986 Scott Fischer
1987 Ted Haney
1988 Charles Jordon
1989-1990 John Robbins
1991 Jim McIntyre
1992 Bob McSpadden
1993 Larry Dantzler
1994 Anne Hull Dick
1995 Vic Jones
1996 Jerry Smithwick
1997 Thomas Neubauer
1998 Raymond Powell
1999 Franklin Harrison
2000 Joe Tannehill, Sr.
2001 Hugh Roche
2002 Karen Hanes
2003 Joey Ginn
2004 Scott Clemons
2005 Elizabeth Walters
2006 Glen McDonald
2007 Steve Southerland
2008 Andy Phillips
2009 Sean McNeil
2010 David Powell
2011 Bo Rivard
2012 Al McCambry
2013 Bill Fenimore
2014 Larry Carroll
2015 Andrew Levy and Michael Sears
2016 Robert Carroll
2017 Claire Sherman
2018 Doug Moore
2019 Will Cramer
2020 Andrew Rowell
2021 Chris Moore